Cart
Checkout Secure

Girl at War

Your Price:
$12.89 $17.00
 
View on Amazon
Checkout Secure
Checkout Secure

Girl at War

Your Price:
$12.89 $17.00
+ Add To Cart

.. Visitors Right Now

5 Great reasons to buy from us:

  • Image of Secure Ordering
  • Image of 365-Day Money-Back Guarantee
  • Image of 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed
  • Image of Easy Returns
  • Image of Free shipping (when you spend over XXX)

Author: Sara Novic

Number Of Pages: 368

Release Date: 22-03-2016

Details:

For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light, We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOK PAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE • ALEX AWARD WINNER • LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST • LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION

Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia’s capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana’s idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana’s sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.

New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she’s tried to move on from her past, she can’t escape her memories of war—secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country’s difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.

Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Nović fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl—and its legacy on all of us. It’s a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.

Praise for Girl at War

“Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth.”The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)

“[An] old-fashioned page-turner that will demand all of the reader’s attention, happily given. A debut novel that astonishes.”Vanity Fair

“Shattering . . . The book begins with what deserves to become one of contemporary literature’s more memorable opening lines. The sentences that follow are equally as lyrical as a folk lament and as taut as metal wire wrapped through an electrified fence.”USA Today
Shipping
 Please check on Amazon for shipping time 
Here are 5 more great reasons to buy from us:

   

We Put Our Customers First to us. If it doesn't fit, it breaks, you've changed your mind or for no reason whatsoever simply send it back to us and we'll cheerfully refund you every cent.

Returns are easy, simply contact us for a returns number and send your item to our returns centre for fast processing. We'll get you a replacement or refund in a snap!

In the unlikely event that you find your item cheaper at another online store, just let us know and we'll beat the competitor's pricing hands-down.

We insist that you love everything you buy from us. If you're unhappy for any reason whatsoever, just let us know and we'll bend over backwards to make things right again.

Ordering with Crowned Writers is 100% safe and secure so you can rest easy. Your personal details are never shared, sold or rented to anyone either.

Author: Sara Novic

Number Of Pages: 368

Release Date: 22-03-2016

Details:

For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light, We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOK PAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE • ALEX AWARD WINNER • LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST • LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION

Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia’s capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana’s idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana’s sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.

New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she’s tried to move on from her past, she can’t escape her memories of war—secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country’s difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.

Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Nović fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl—and its legacy on all of us. It’s a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.

Praise for Girl at War

“Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth.”The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)

“[An] old-fashioned page-turner that will demand all of the reader’s attention, happily given. A debut novel that astonishes.”Vanity Fair

“Shattering . . . The book begins with what deserves to become one of contemporary literature’s more memorable opening lines. The sentences that follow are equally as lyrical as a folk lament and as taut as metal wire wrapped through an electrified fence.”USA Today
Shipping
Please check on Amazon for shipping time   
Here are 5 more great reasons to buy from us:

   

We Put Our Customers First to us. If it doesn't fit, it breaks, you've changed your mind or for no reason whatsoever simply send it back to us and we'll cheerfully refund you every cent.

Returns are easy, simply contact us for a returns number and send your item to our returns centre for fast processing. We'll get you a replacement or refund in a snap!

In the unlikely event that you find your item cheaper at another online store, just let us know and we'll beat the competitor's pricing hands-down.

We insist that you love everything you buy from us. If you're unhappy for any reason whatsoever, just let us know and we'll bend over backwards to make things right again.

Ordering with Crowned Writers is 100% safe and secure so you can rest easy. Your personal details are never shared, sold or rented to anyone either.

Don't Take Our Word For it! Here's What Our Customers Think:

Added to cart!
1984
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Alabama, USA
1984
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Nevada, USA
2001: a Space Odyssey
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from North Carolina, USA
A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life's Purpose
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from New Mexico, USA
A Promised Land
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Birmingham, Great Britain
A Study in Scarlet (1887) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Texax, USA
A Woman of No Importance: The Untold Story of the...
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Louisiana, USA
Abstract Iron Reading Sculpture
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Minnesota, USA
An Extraordinary Union: An Epic Love Story of the Civil...
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Florida, USA
Anatomy of a Murder
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from North Carolina, USA
Anatomy of the Spirit: The Seven Stages of Power and...
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from California, USA
And Then There Were None
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Minnesota, USA
Anna Karenina
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from London, Great Britain
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Texax, USA
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Hawaii, USA
Aran: Recipes and Stories from a Bakery in the Heart...
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from California, USA
Autobiography of a Yogi (Self-Realization Fellowship)
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Colorado, USA
Await Your Reply
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Colorado, USA
Awaken the Giant Within : How to Take Immediate Control...
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Georgia, USA
Bared to You (A Crossfire Novel)
Someone purchased 1 minute ago from Ohi, USA
Free shipping when you order over XX You Have Qualified for Free Shipping Spend $x to Unlock Free Shipping You Have Achieved Free Shipping Free Shipping For Over $x to Free Shipping Over $x to You Have Achieved Free Shipping Free shipping when you order over XX ou Have Qualified for Free Shipping